Want Location Independence?

IMG_5625

My children spend each Summer with my ex-husband in Louisiana. I usually spend my Summers in Atlanta working and missing them. I think I am like many other mothers. We tend to live these lives that revolve around our children. Once they are gone for even a short period of time we are sometimes left trying to figure out how to live and what to do with SOOOO much free time.

When I was in college I was a free spirit. I would jump in my car and take road trips with very little money in my pocket. I would hop on a plane without a return flight. I did not know how I was going to get back, what I was going to do when I go there, but I did it! Those were the best years of my life! Of course given the responsibility of raising my boys (and being a real adult..lol) I do not have the luxury to be as carefree.

When a friend mentioned to me on Sunday a trip to Mexico that they were taking on Tuesday I decided to go. I had a million reasons why I should not. I didn’t plan it, I had things to do around the house, I had errands to run in Atlanta…the list went on and on. However I stopped making excuses to enjoy myself and I packed my bag and bought the plane ticket before I could change my mind for a third time.

The biggest part of this is the fact that I am always talking about location independence and the happiness that comes from it, but I don’t always do it. Location independence is having a business/career which allows you to work from anywhere with a wifi signal. My business is 100% location independent.

Many of you know my story. You know that I built a multi 6 figure law practice from nothing in Louisiana and that I walked away from it all to focus on the entrepreneurship portion of my business as opposed to the court appearances and legal practice. I relocated and starting buying businesses. What I don’t like to talk about is the $100,000 plus of my own personal savings that I lost in a business. It hurt like hell. I was depressed and devastated. After walking away from that venture I really did not have much money left. After a few months I did not know how I was going to pay my bills and take care of my boys.To put is bluntly- I was scared shitless! I could have moved back to Louisiana and started defending criminals and helping clients in custody battles, but the thought of going back to that made me want to cry. That path made me miserable; I did not want to go back to it. Besides my boys were settled, thriving and so happy in Georgia. On top of that there would still be a high expense associated with moving. Ughhh..I was in such a pickle!

I had to figure it out quickly. Shortly after that venture I started business consulting. I knew what I was good at, I knew why many of my ventures were successful and I knew why my most recent one was not. People wanted to know what I knew that came naturally to me. That info coupled with my personal experiences in business was actually something people would pay for. I honestly did not see my worth outside of a courtroom or managing a business. I shared my info and I started charging for it. I built a website and started putting myself out there just for fun really. Within a few months I built an entirely new business on the internet. CRAZY! I have built my business from social media, google and word of mouth. People from multiple states and countries have all been able to find me and actually hire me for my services as well as purchase my products.

I do not need to be at a desk in a high-rise building. I do not need some pricey phone system and a big staff! I could not use work as my excuse not to go to Mexico. I rescheduled a couple of calls and ensured that the resort had wifi and was ready to go. the one consulting call that I could not miss was done via FaceTime on my laptop. The projects I am working on can all be typed and emailed from my laptop. I have created a business that I love and that I can do from this beautiful beach in Mexico..HA! It can all happen when you put yourself out there, provide good services and work on branding yourself as an expert in your industry. It is really that simple. I can help you do it too.

cabo

Have you grown tired of feeling stuck? Are you ready to work on your own schedule from a beach, from any Starbucks, from your sofa??? I would love to help you. I just started taking new clients again. I have a few slots that are still open for 3 month or 6 month consulting. If you have an interest in working with me in your industry on doing exactly what I have done we need to chat..ASAP. Click here to see available consulting packages. If you are SERIOUS about success just reply to this email. I would be happy to set up a call once I return from Mexico next week.

Looking forward to working with you!

XOXO,

Lenise

Leave a Reply

