What I Learned When I Intentionally Checked Out

checkout

I have been SUPER, SUPER busy lately. Advising and working on projects with my clients, creating new material for entrepreneurs, hosting a radio show on Business RadioX, getting my kids everywhere they need to go… I could go on and on but I will stop there …lol!

Lately things have been going so fast I couldn’t even think straight. I found myself becoming overwhelmed and pretty flighty and loopy at times. As women we just keep going and going with the weight of the world on our shoulders.

My two little boys were headed out to Jamaica with their dad for Spring Break for a week. I felt that I needed my own Spring break!  I decided to “intentionally check out” for EIGHT days. YIKES! If you know me personally you would know that it is hard for me to sit for even 30 minutes without doing anything. However, I am happy to report that I successfully completed all eight days of my intentional check-out. (Insert applause and cheers here!!) I took my time off to travel, rest, prepare my mind & spirit for revelations and do pretty much whatever the heck I wanted to do!

I spent 9 hours at a day spa in the beautiful and serene mountains of North Carolina, I went to dinner by myself, I had a mani and pedi day, I was able to visit family in Louisiana…ahhhh. I forgot what it was like to just RELAX! I was also able to see my little brother graduate from the Louisiana State Police Academy. Becoming a State Trooper had been his dream since he was 5 years old. What an honor to witness him achieve his childhood dream 🙂

In my eight days of relaxing I realized that for the last few months I have been really busy, but not successful. Busy is not always a good thing. In my solitude I learned that busy is sometimes a way to keep from focusing on what really needs to be done or to prevent from focusing on how/what we are currently feeling or experiencing in life.

The time away was a great gift to myself. It caused many revelations and new ideas for what I can do to better my clients and myself both personally and professionally. I have promised myself that I will schedule at least 90 minutes a day to just RELAX and REGROUP. It can be lounging in bed an extra 30 minutes, having a silent 30 minute lunch and 30 minute evening prayer time or it can be 90 straight minutes in the gym. However I break down the time I WILL GIVE MYSELF 90 MINUTES a day. I am certain that this will give me more clarity, more focus and LESS overwhelm.

I invite you to join me in this Intentional 90 minute a day check out. You deserve to do absolutely nothing for 90 minutes per day/ 10.5 hours per week/ 315 hours per month. Otherwise your head will ache and your brain will explode… like mine almost did 🙂

Cheers to checking out! What are you going to do to intentionally check out? Let me know below.

Leave a Reply

