What Writing a Book Taught Me About Myself

Book_02-2

About 2 and a half years ago I said that I wanted to write a book. I did not do it because I thought things like “who would buy my book?” “Do I have time to write a book?” and “What the heck would I write about?”  I watched others in my circle work on their books and experience success as authors. In 2014 I sat down to start the task once again. Many people suggested that I announce the project and sell presell copies. Selling copies would hold me accountable…I would HAVE to produce the product! I sold quite a few presale copies, but guess what? I did not finish it. I refunded the orders and swept the project under the rug once again. At that point I told myself that I was many things, but author was not one of them.

As you know, I sell products online. I sell live and recorded webinars, my Business in a Binder (3 parts) and other programs. I have been pretty successful in selling those products and programs. Earlier this year it hit me: creating these programs and products is not much different than writing a book. Considering all the things I have sat up late at night typing I probably could have written 15 books! Once I realized that I got to work.

I am proud to say that in less than two months my book was complete. Here is where the self-realization started. After I finished the book it took me a long time to finally submit for printing. I had it edited, I read it and reread it and reread to again and again. Moving sentences, changing the order of the chapters….it wouldn’t stop. I had others read it and offer feedback. They all gave me excellent feedback and minimal suggestions. “It’s done, Lenise”, they all said. But I kept tweaking it. I missed deadlines and kept holding the document on my flash drive. Finally I realized that I was the problem. I came to the conclusion that I was scared. But what was I scared of?

I wanted the book to be perfect. I did not want a comma out of place, I sentence fragment. I did not want others to have negative things to say. It had to be perfect. I had paralysis…perfection paralysis. Have you ever had this? I “preach” to others all the time, “JUST DO IT, It will NEVER be perfect! blah, blah, blah…” I laughed at myself and realized I was officially a hypocrite. SMH. At that point I took control of the situation and pressed submit…well after I read it one- more-gen.. LOL.

The lesson I learned was that I must not just talk the talk, I must also walk the walk. Who knows, the book may be a best seller or it may be a total bust. (You can be the judge; order it here!) Either way I would never know unless I actually do it. I think about the words I uttered to a client this morning. I told her, “It is just like a car. If you do not press the gas it will never move. Just press the gas already!” If you are reading this (you know who you are! I won’t call you out…lol) just know that I too have to give myself a pep talk and a slap in the face 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “What Writing a Book Taught Me About Myself

  1. Ms. Jai

    Much needed!! The change of mind frame to step outside your comfort zone is a struggle as well. Not knowing if you can hold your own in a corporate environment coming from the “street” environment isn’t as easy as someone saying it. Progressive baby steps & S.M.A.R.T goal checks for me. Thanks for that Lenise!!

    Like

    Reply
  2. wondergirlchonicles

    Thank you for sharing! For those of us just starting out on our business ventures, it is good to hear that those we admire and who are considered “experts” feel what we feel. We can get so caught up in our feelings can’t we? Or maybe that’s just me, LOL! Anyway, thanks for the reminder to practice what we preach and keep moving forward. Oh, and I am purchasing my book this week and I look forward to reading!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

