Why I am UNBOTHERED by the Instagram Rollouts

IMG_6317
If you are active on social media then I am sure you have heard about the changes Instagram is rolling out. If you have not you can read more about it here. Basically to sum it all up for you, Instagram is no longer going to display posts to you in chronological order. Even if you follow a particular account that account’s posts will not appear chronologically. Only posts which IG determines you may have an interest will be displayed. If you’ve been on Instagram over the last few days I am sure you saw a post or two (or 50!) requesting that you “turn on notifications” so that you can continue to see the account holder’s posts. If you didn’t know what all that was about now ya’ know! 
Many small business owners that have used Instagram to market their products and services aren’t happy about this change. A petition to stop these changes is actually circulating. To many it means that a large number of their followers will miss out on offers and services that they offer. Although I have used Instagram as a platform I DON’T GIVE A HOOT about the changes!
Here are 3 reason that I am totally unbothered (and you should be too!)
  1. I hashtag and engage with strangers: Hashtags on Instagram are powerful. I use hashtags that my ideal client may use. If they search that particular hashtag they may come across my IG page and realize that I am posting about things for which they also have an interest. In addition I can search those same hashtags and find my ideal client. Once I “find” them I interact with them…I comment on their pics, like their pics, etc. The new rollouts won’t make me stop doing that and it should not stop you either! Social media is about engagement. Keep engaging and you will keep people interested in you and what you are offering.
  2. I don’t want to bother uninterested people: There are people that could have started following you for some reason that they don’t even remember! Maybe they liked your shoes in a particular picture, maybe whatever you have been posting about at one time was their interest, etc. For whatever reason they really just don’t care about what you are posting about anymore. They just haven’t taken that extra step to just unfollow you. They don’t care about your posts and they don’t interact with you on your page. Now they won’t see your posts anymore. GOODbye! Unbothered. You should care why?!?!? lol
  3. I have an email list: Although Instagram was my first platform for marketing my consulting services it was not my only. It should not have been yours. Instagram should be just one weapon in your arsenal; never should it be the only weapon in your  arsenal. My goal for Instagram was to gain such an interest through my posts that the user would feel compelled to check out my website and subscribe to my email list. I’d prefer to interact via email anyway! Once they are on my email list I can send useful content, motivation, offers, etc. Email lists are really where the “magic” happens. Instagram/ Social media should only be the bait!

My advice to you is to let all your Instagram followers know about your email list. Maybe they don’t know that the list exists.  (Pssst…if you do not have one create one like YESTERDAY!) Create a post and let them know that your email list exists and that you have a special offering for those that sign up for the list. Sometimes you just need to tell people what to do. If you don’t tell them they very well may never know.It is only a matter of time before these changes roll out. Therefore you need to get your followers on your email list now!

 

Leave a Reply

