Why My Hairstylist Impressed Me Today..and Not Because go My Hair

IMG_6487

Yes!! My hair stylist is pretty amaze balls! She impresses me every 2 weeks when I walk away from her styling chair. I walk out each time with my hair on fleek ūüôā and feeling gorge! Today after she whipped off the styling cape and turned my chair around to face the mirror, it was no different. Yep, she did yet another amazing job. Compliments followed from strangers from the time that I stepped up from her seat until I got into my car. As usual I felt pretty darn amazing. However my stylist was the extra amazing one today.

My stylist is a sought out stylist here in Atlanta.  You can see her making many socialites and television stars glamorous on a regular basis. Today a very well-known celebrity called her and requested that she do her hair today at noon.She offered to pay my stylist for her services and also reimburse her the money she would lose due to canceling her  appointments today. I looked at my watch as she was doing my hair and telling me this story. It was 11:45pm. She was doing MY hair instead of racing to get to this celebrity. It made me smile.

“That person is a one time service,” she said. “I did her hair 2 years ago and have not heard from her since then. My clients that come to me every week or every two weeks are more important to me than snapping a pic with a celebrity after I have done her hair.”

That impressed me more than any curl or color or fantastic cut she has provided. It was not only her loyalty that was impressive; it was also her mature business sense that put a smile on my face. Here are two reasons this made me smile:

Respect.¬†She recognized the fact that her skill set should be valued and respected. It should be acknowledged by others by simply respecting her time and her clients. Her work is good. When people want her to do their hair, they schedule¬†an appointment. Since arrangements were not made in advance, my stylist was not willing to push others to the side. This stylist already has established herself in this industry. She is not someone brand new that is seeking opportunities to “make it” in the hair industry. She’s already done that.

Saying “no” allows others to gain more respect for you and your expertise/talents. If this celebrity really wants this stylist to do her hair ever again I bet she will arrange it ahead of time. ¬†Know your worth. You can demand respect without being a ¬† *itch!

Money.¬†My stylist recognized the fact that she has clients that pay her faithfully every week or every two weeks. Although the celebrity would have compensated her for the money she would have lost today, the money would not be enough. The money would not repair her relationship with clients that were depending on her today. That one decision to cancel her appointments today would could have been detrimental to her clientele. Some may have felt pushed to the side. It may have caused some to no longer want to do business with her. Once that happens and she develops a reputation for pushing clients to the side for celebrities which causes her to lose money. It’s just not worth it.

In business you can not think about the temporary gain. You must focus on the bigger picture. Will the notoriety you are seeking today have a negative impact your business tomorrow? In making decisions that affect your personal brand consider the implications it will have next week, next month and even next year.

What are your thoughts? What would you have done if you were this stylist?

Leave a Reply

